Illinois elementary and high school teachers receive free admission to the MCA. Simply present a valid teacher ID at the admissions desk. Can’t carry your ID with you? Email us to request a teacher pass.



Register for teacher programs

Immersive professional development programs invite teachers to use the MCA as their studio, laboratory, library, and classroom.

Teacher Institute

People sit on the ground in an open-air structure made of long wooden beams and tape

Looking for a deep and sustained professional development experience?

Our yearlong Teacher Institute engages both teachers and artists in dialogue and inquiry to develop and build a contemporary curriculum and collaborative community. Participants receive CPDUs. Vouchers for free parking in the MCA garage are provided pending availability.

Multiple Visit Program

Designed in alignment with English Language Arts Standards, our Multiple Visit Program offers students and teachers, grades 4–6, a chance to debate, discuss, and connect to works of art through a series of visits to the museum. This program uses contemporary art to sharpen students’ critical and creative thinking skills and abilities to engage in collaborative dialogue and inquiry.


Teacher mailing list sign up

Complete this form to keep in touch and hear about the MCA’s programs for educators.


Contact us at
[email protected].


MCA Teacher Advisory Committee

The Teacher Advisory Committee is made up of Chicago-area teachers who work together to create and advise on projects that make connections between contemporary art and other subject areas. The committee is comprised of Chicago Public School teachers, suburban teachers, private school teachers, art teachers, non-art teachers, and MCA Education department staff members.

Current Members

Troy Authement, Daniel Zizumbo Charter School
Bridget Doherty, Taft High School
William Higgins, Lakeview Elementary School
Marcia LaPorte, Proviso East High School
Marina Lopez, Spry Elementary School
Kristal Pacheco, UNO Major Hector P. Garcia MD Charter High School
Lisa Wax, Whitney Young High School
Matt Winkelman, Lake Zurich High School
Zachary Wisser, Cary-Grove High School