Vision and Mission

Vision Campaign



The Vision Campaign is about great art and ideas that connect with the community and propel the MCA as a leader in the cultural landscape.
—Pritzker Director Madeleine Grynsztejn


The MCA Vision Campaign began in 2012 with self-reflection and analysis: What kind of museum are we? Who do we want to become? What can we learn from similar arts organizations internationally? How do we serve the Chicago community and how can we do it better? What’s the future of the MCA and how do we get there?

We recognize that contemporary art can be challenging and may not be for everyone. We strive to help our culturally curious audiences understand and interact with contemporary art and artists through interpretive programming and publications. In order to emphasize the creative process, the MCA frequently invites artists to lead and help shape our programming, and highlights art history in the making by showing finished works along with works in progress. These efforts to expose how art is made take place within the museum and beyond our walls, often with forays into current technology.

The goal of the campaign is to strengthen the museum’s commitment to the works of living artists as well as to engage diverse audiences with artist-led programs, multimedia exhibitions, and performances.

Vision Campaign Chair King Harris emphasized the importance of balancing both sustainability and growth, recognizing that because of the Vision Campaign, “the museum today is on solid financial ground and can realize this ambitious vision.”

Vision Donors

Significant gifts to the Vision Campaign support the museum's efforts to reach this goal. We gratefully acknowledge the generous support of the following Vision Donors:


Kenneth C. Griffin Charitable Fund
Stefan Edlis and Gael Neeson
Helen and Sam Zell


Penny Pritzker and Bryan Traubert


The Bluhm Family
Marlene Breslow-Blitstein and Berle Blitstein
The Crown Family
R. H. Defares
Efroymson Family Fund and the
  Efroymson-Hamid Family Foundation
Marilyn and Larry Fields
Margot and George Greig
Caryn and King Harris and
  The Harris Family Foundation
David G. Herro and Jay Franke
The Anne and Burt Kaplan Fund of the
  Mayer and Morris Kaplan Foundation
Rebecca W. Knight and Lester B. Knight
Sally and Jonathan Kovler
Liz and Eric Lefkofsky
Elizabeth A. Liebman
The Beatrice C. Mayer Fund
Sylvia Neil and Dan Fischel
Cari and Michael Sacks


Michael Alper
Rob and Sheryl Bellick
Julie and Larry Bernstein
Kathleen and Gerhard Bette
Liza and Marc Brooks
Susan and Michael Canmann
John Cartland
Lois and Stephen Eisen
Laura and Marshall Front
Nancy and Nicholas Giampietro
Helyn Goldenberg
Madeleine Grynsztejn and
  Tom Shapiro
Sandra and Jack Guthman
Vicki and Bill Hood
Cynthia Hunt and Philip Rudolph
Mary Ittelson
Gretchen Jordan
Susie Karkomi and Marvin Leavitt
Don Kaul and Barbara Bluhm-Kaul
Ronald and Felicia Levin
Nancy Lauter McDougal and
  Alfred L. McDougal
Marquis D. Miller and
  Pamela Buchanan Miller
The Neisser Family Fund
Marty Nesbitt and Anita Blanchard
Michael and Claire O’Grady
Shawna and Jay Owen
Cynthia and Terry Perucca
Carol Prins and John Hart
Irving Stenn Jr.
Dorie Sternberg
Daryl Gerber Stokols and Jeff Stokols
Ambassador Louis and
  Marjorie Susman
Sara Szold
Lynn and Allen Turner
Dia S. and Edward S. Weil Jr.

As of April 2017