Jump to content

STAMP! Artists' Postage Stamps and Books from the Collections of MCA & Bad Press Books


Installation view, STAMP!, MCA Chicago, Jul 5–27, 2003

Photo: © MCA Chicago


STAMP! features selections of Artists' Postal Stamps from the MCA Collection drawn primarily from a gift to the MCA by John Jones and James Garrett Faulkner in 1992. This collection has never before been shown and consists of both “sheets” of artist-designed stamps that mimic government issued stamps, as well as “stamp albums” of artist-designed stamps, cancellation marks, and other materials. An international selection of artists is also featured, including such well-known figures as Dieter Roth, Dick Higgins and other Fluxus figures, Ubaldo Giacomucci, Carlo Pittore, and prominent stamp artists and publishing houses such as Patrick Beilman of Cow Town Art; Joki, Graciela Gutierrez Marx, Dogfish, and Kowa Kato. This collection is augmented with selections from the collection of well-known Chicago-based postal stamp artist Michael Hernandez de Luna, which features works by Michael Thomas, Ed Varney, Jas. Felter, C. T. Chew, Picasso Gaglione, among others.

The exhibition is organized by Lynne Warren and Tricia Van Eck with guest curator Michael Hernandez de Luna.